About City And Guilds

The City & Guilds Group is a leader in global skills development.​ The City and Guilds of London Institute is an educational organisation in the United Kingdom. Founded in 1878 by the City of London, the organisation's mission is to develop a national system of technical education.

Unlike conventional academic programmes, City and Guilds focuses on the development of vocational skills and technical knowledge through practical portfolio development coupled with academic courses, allowing learners to develop a wholesome hands-on education programme with emphasis on technical skills over academic knowledge. 


City and Guilds work with education providers, employers and governments and its qualifications are recognised around the world in more than 100 countries across the world. Its qualifications are aimed at helping people, businesses and economies grow by shaping skills systems and supporting skills development.​

As a Royal Chartered Institute and registered charity, the City and Guilds of London Institute is the awarding body for City & Guilds and ILM qualifications. The City & Guilds Group is the market facing brand for the organisation today. Over the years, the City & Guilds Group has expanded internationally to address global skills shortages by offering targeted skills education and training services locally.

For more information on our partner, please visit

City & Guilds headquarters on 1 Giltspur Street

City And Guilds Qualification Comparison

The national qualification frameworks in the United Kingdom are qualifications frameworks that define and link the levels and credit values of different qualifications.


Starting from October 2015, the national qualification framework has officially adopted the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) for general and vocational qualifications regulated by Ofqual in England. Credit frameworks use the UK credit pioneered by the Credit Accumulation and Transfer Scheme, where 1 credit = 10 hours of nominal learning.

The table below indicates the City and Guilds Qualification as transcribed unto the RQF and conventional academic qualifications.





Entry Level

If you've not got any prior experience and you don't feel confident about your abilities, then this level could be a good place to start.

Level E1

Level E2

Level E3

Entry level vocational awards

Scottish intermediate Scottish Access 1-2

Level 1

Ideal if you're just starting out or are new to the subject area. This level covers routine tasks and basic knowledge.

Level 1

SVQ/NVQ Level 1

Level 1 Vocational Awards

Level 1 IVQ certificate

Level 1 International Introductory Awards*

GCSE grades D - G

3 Foundations S Grade

Scottish Access 1-2, Foundation GNVQ

BTEC first certificate

Level 2

You need to have some knowledge or experience of the area. 

Level 2

SVQ/NVQ Level 2

Level 2 Vocational Awards

Level 2 IVQ Technician Certificate

Level 2 IVQ Diploma

Level 2 Specialist Diploma

Level 2 International awards*

GCSE grades A* - C

Scottish intermediate 2 / Credit S Grade.

Intermediate GNVQ

BTEC first diploma

Level 3

Covers more complex work and will help you develop your supervisory skills.

Level 3

SVQ/NVQ Level 3

Level 3 Vocational Awards

Level 3 IVQ Technician Diploma

Level 3 IVQ Advanced Diploma

Level 3 IVQ Specialist Advanced  Diploma

Level 3 International awards*


Scottish higher


City & Guilds Advanced Craft Certificate / Diploma 

Vocational A-Levels

BTEC Ordinary National Certificate (ONC) and Ordinary National Diploma (OND) are both broadly comparable to a Level 3 qualification.

Level 4

'Most likely you'll have management experience by this point.

Level 4

SVQ/NVQ Level 4

Level 4 Vocational Awards

Licentiateship (LCGI)

Higher Professional Diploma

Full technical certificate

BTEC Higher National Certificate (HNC)

BTEC Higher National Diploma (HND)

Level 5

'Most likely you'll have management experience by this point.

Level 5

SVQ/NVQ Level 5

Level 5 Vocational Awards

Full Technical Certificate / Diploma

Advanced Technician Diploma

Diploma of higher education

Diploma of further education

Foundation degree

Higher National Diploma (HND)

Level 6

For senior managers

Level 6

Graduateship (GCGI)

Associateship (ACGI) 

Bachelor's degree

Graduate certificate

Graduate diploma

BTEC Advanced Professional Award, Certificate and Diploma level 6

Level 7

For senior managers

Level 7

Membership (MCGI)

Master Professional Diploma 

Master's degree

Postgraduate certificate [PCG]

Postgraduate diploma [PCD]

Fellowship and Fellowship Diploma

BTEC Advanced Professional Award, Certificate and Diploma level 7

Level 8

As high as you can go

Level 8

Fellowship (FCGI) 

Doctorate, PhD

* Nearest comparable level 

RQF has replaced QCFs starting 1-Jan-18.  NVQ was replaced by QCFs in 2008


Contact Us

Visit Us

263A Upper Thomson Road

Singapore 574390

Tel : (+65) 8851 4405


  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Registered with the Committee for Private Education (CPE)
Singa College of Built Environment

Registration Number :  201631925G
Period of Registration : 07 March 2019 to 06 March 2021

© Copyright 2020 Singa College